Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

Outstanding First Year Student Advocates

Educate. Engage. Enlighten.


First Year students are highly impacted by multiple people on Longwood's campus, and these students may not always have the opportunity to share their appreciation. The Office of First Year Experience & Family Programs established the Outstanding First Year Students Advocates Award to allow first year students to give recognition to faculty, staff, students or Aramark employees who have make an positive impact on their Longwood experience thus far. We encourage first year students to share their experiences no matter how small the interaction.

Each first year student will be asked to complete a brief survey where they will nominate one person who they believe is an outstanding advocate, and briefly describe the impact they've had. In late April, all the nominees will receive a letter and certificate of appreciation and will be publically recognized in The Rotunda, and have their names displayed on a plaque that will be hung in Lankford Student Union.

Previous Recipients of the Outstanding First Year Student Advocate Award!

2009-2010 Recipients!

2012-2011 Recipients!

2011-2012 Recipients!


The Fourth Annual class of Outstanding First Year Student Advocates 2013!

Faculty & Staff Recipients:

  • Dr. Bill Abrams
  • Dr. Brian Bates
  • Dr. Ray Brastow
  • Dr. David Coles
  • Ms. Danielle Dillion
  • Dr. Danette Gibbs
  • Dr. Claire LaRoche
  • Dr. Matthew Lucas
  • Ms. Ellen Masters
  • Dr. Brett Martz
  • Ms. Kate Morgan
  • Ms. Abbey O'Connor
  • Ms. Kim Redford
  • Dr. John Reynolds
  • Mr. Larry Robertson
  • Ms. Tonya Smith
  • Ms. Rebecca Sturgill
  • Ms. Louise Waller
  • Dr. Thomas Wears
  • Dr. Steve Whitaker

The families of Mrs. Paige Epps and Dr. Bill Stuart have accepted awards on their behalf.

ARAMARK Dining & Housekeeping Staff

  • Ms. Daisy Carter
  • Ms. Tina Harris
  • Ms. Betty Pelletier
  • Ms. Cathie Shelton

Student Recipients:

  • Ms. Liz Alvey
  • Ms. Kiara Anthony
  • Ms. Hannah Bailey
  • Ms. Katie Beals
  • Mr. Austin Bonney
  • Ms. Queen Burrell
  • Ms. Jessica Darst
  • Ms. Ericka Godwin
  • Ms. Leah Golden
  • Mr. Gilbert Hall
  • Mr. Charles Hoever
  • Mr. Rashaad Jordan
  • Ms. Christian Kearney
  • Ms. Jasmine Keeling
  • Ms. Amanda Krzywicki
  • Ms. Mary Lass
  • Mr. Dylan Roach
  • Mr. Dani Roberts
  • Ms. Charity Smith
  • Ms. Emma Thoden
  • Ms. Nancy Ventura
  • Ms. Caroline Villarreal
  • Ms. Hannah Watson
  • Ms. Leighan Worden



Advocate Surveys

In the Spring of 2014, we will begin taking nominations for the Fifth Annual Class of Outstanding First Year Student Advocates for 2014. These individuals will be recognized for their impact on students of the Class of 2017!

We would like to thank everyone who participated in this year's Outstanding First Year Student Advocates Award nomination and delivery process! Your support and cooperation is truly appreciated.

If you have any questions or comments about the OFYSA award, please contact the Office of First Year Experience & Family Programs at firstyear@longwood.edu.

Thank you!