Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

Spring 2008

Honors Conference Calls for Proposals

We have received calls for proposals for two upcoming honors conferences. If you have a project, or will have developed one in the near future, please come by the Honors office in East Ruffner and see Dr. Fink or Dr. Orth so that we can start work on the proposal.

Details can be found on the conferences page.

New Honors Students complete Orientation on January 14th

With the help of six honors mentors-Emily Kilgore, Maggie Richardson, Bobby Markey, Jennifer Curfman, Adam Trimmer, and Tom McArdle-over twenty new honors students completed a day-long orientation on Monday, January 14th and were awarded their honors polo shirts in a graduation ceremony attended by Longwood's Provost, Dr. Wayne McWee. The day's activities began over breakfast in Wheeler Hall with an overview of honors requirements and opportunities, then continued with a special program on the civil rights struggle in Prince Edward County, held at the Moton Museum. After lunch, participants spent 90 minutes completing a community service project at FACES, the local food pantry, followed by a return to Wheeler for a brief final exam and the graduation ceremony. Please join us in welcoming the following new honors students:

Ashley Bisnett, Blair Conner, Callie Darling, David Fletcher, Rebecca Franklin, Lauren Gabor, Bryan Hawkins, Kyle Huffer, Jennifer Irby, Jameka Jones, Victoria Layman, Jonathan Leist, Katherine Morgan, Kelsey Odom, Heather Perris, Ashley Russell, Christina Schmid, Jessica Snyder, Shane Spencer, Jessica Stott, Lindsey Winter, Caitlin Zoetis

The Honors Student Association

You are encouraged to contact your class representatives to the Honors Student Association so that they can best pursue your suggestions and concerns about Honors activities.

This year's class representatives are:

Class of 2008: Matt Armentrout and Melanie Goss

Class of 2009: Jay Crowell (in France) and Whitney Tripp (President), Kara McCrickard (Vice-President)

Class of 2010: Bobby Markey (Treasurer) and Colleen Barnes (Secretary)

Class of 2011: Tom McArdle and Katie Bowman

Congratulations graduating seniors!

Congratulations to all seniors graduating from the honors program this year! Thank you for all your hard work and good luck in all that you do!

Neal Livesay displays poster at conferenceSenior physics major Neal Livesay recently displayed his research poster at the National Conference for undergraduate research. Congratulations and great work, Neal!