Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

Pi Delta Phi

National French Honor Society


The purpose of this Society shall be to (1) recognize outstanding scholarship in the French language and its literature; (2) to increase the knowledge and appreciation of Americans for the cultural contributions of the French-speaking world; (3) to stimulate and encourage French cultural activities.



To qualify for membership in the Society, students must meet the following requirements:

  • Students must have completed at least one course in French above the 202 level,
  • Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or above in French, and
  • Students must have an overall GPA of 2.8 or above.


Honorary Membership

Honorary membership may be granted to members of the French Faculty, diplomats and community leaders who have shown a strong support of French culture.


National History

Pi Delta Phi was founded as a departmental honor society at the University of California, Berkeley, in 1906. After 20 years as a local chapter, Pi Delta Phi declared itself the National French Honor Society and chartered the Beta Chapter at the University of Southern California in 1925. The Society expanded slowly during the next 15 years. Since the end of World War II, Pi Delta Phi has enjoyed phenomenal growth.

At the present time, it numbers more than 275 chapters established at representative public and private colleges and universities in almost every state, as well as chapters in Paris and Aix-en-Provence.

The Society was admitted into membership in the Association of College Honor Societies in 1967.

The official publication of Pi Delta Phi is the Newsletter.


National Officers of Pi Delta Phi


  • Paul W. Wood, St. Bonaventure University

Regional Vice Presidents:

  • Judith Barban, Winthrop University (Southeast)
  • Camille Vandeberg, Western Michigan University (North Central)
  • Gary Lambert, Brigham Young University (West)
  • Mary Jo Netherton, Morehead State University (South Central)
  • Clayton Alcorn, New York State University at Cortland (Northeast)

Executive Director:

  • Dr. Mary Gutermuth, Sam Houston University

Editor Newsletter:

  • Karen Renik, California Lutheran University 


Dr. B. McRae Amoss
Professor of French
Grainger 302

Dr. Wade Edwards
Associate Professor of French
Grainger 304

National Website